Ring Runner
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Paul and EC Dryere - you guys rock! RR is IGotY material

3 posters

Go down

Paul and EC Dryere - you guys rock! RR is IGotY material Empty Paul and EC Dryere - you guys rock! RR is IGotY material

Post  cjcurrie Mon Jan 07, 2013 3:16 pm

I am a hardcore fan of space games and have played almost every major title involving space ships to come out in the last fifteen years. I stumbled across RR from a PC Gamer article and immediately downloaded the alpha. After seeing perplexingThoerist's post, "Lack of user posting", I felt compelled to create a forum account and do a little fanboy rave.

As an indie game developer myself, I can really appreciate the scope and scale of what Paul and EC have created so far. What really blew my rocks as I played the Alpha was how polished and *pretty* the whole thing was. I remember looking at universe map on the scenario selector and just spending a few minutes scrolling it back and forth, watching the (post-processing?) effects and the polar coordinates change. A similar moment happened when I was playing the Sub-Rostrum minigame. It was damn fun, but the quality of the effects and physics is what really set it apart.

This was before I even played the campaign.

I know I've only gotten a taste with the tutorial, but the combination of high-low-high-stakes action, witty character dialogue, strange lore (some of it is *really* strange), excellent gameplay, and secrecy of the rising action has got me hooked. I'd been playing a lot of Space Pirates and Zombies lately, but this game is miles and years better than even my current favorite space game. All you really need is a better website Smile

tl;dr Your game is great. You made an instant fan out of me and I'll be proselytizing all my friends on your behalf.

cjcurrie

Back to top Go down