Ring Runner
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Boredom Inspired, Evil Approved

3 posters

Go down

Boredom Inspired, Evil Approved Empty Boredom Inspired, Evil Approved

Post  Star Sage Thu Jul 18, 2013 12:23 am

Got the game the instant it popped up on Good Old Games, since I'm an RPG fan, and a fan of shooters with RPG elements, see Sigma Star Saga for the GBA and Fusion: Genesis for Xbox Live Arcade. Because of this, I've seen what this one is trying to do before, so I've had some experience with them. I will admit, the basic premise alone, and the sense of humor my AI buddy has has been enough to carry the plot so far, since actual story has been a bit bland.

Mind, I'm not past the tutorial yet, just did the Gambling mission(I won the bet), and about to do another 'job' for the trash king. I do get that you're introducing every mechanic of the game, one at a time, so we get used to them, but I must say, pacing in this thing is rather poor because of it. The arena especially felt like it dragged a bit, and I found most of the bonus objectives annoying, rather than fulfilling, which I had before.

Characters have been....light, but then, so far, I've only had 4 introduced to me. Mugen, Trash King, my AI partner, and myself. Mugen was awesome, if a bit cliche, as he reminded me of a really good Star Trek episode. Trash King is someone I want to see dead, and I think that's the point, so good job there. The AI is a snark master, and I just love him. Wondering if he ever gets to auto control something in later fights. Hoping for a whole AI squad with me, which seems to be where certain mechanics are leading. Also, I like me. I'm a bit of a hopeless dud, but I can pilot well, and I do have morals. That should serve me well.